Tags

,

Talking to myself about colour, light, form, space and now words too.  “A Confederacy of Dunces” By John Kennedy Toole is my favourite book of all time, an eccentric, funny and memorable adventure featuring the offensive protagonist Ignatius J. Reilly, an obese, 30 year old medieval scholar who is obsesed by his contemptuous views of taste and decency. This book  won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1981, but tragically the author comitted suicide in 1969 and never saw his masterpiece published.  A highly recommended read,  you’ll be quoting it for the rest of your life.

Image by Matt Dawson

“… I avoid that bleak first hour of the working day during which my still sluggish senses and body make ever chore a penance. I find that in arriving later, the work which I do perform is of a much higher quality.” – A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole

“Canned food is a perversion,’ Ignatius said. ‘I suspect that it is ultimately very damaging to the soul.” – A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole

“A firm rule must be imposed upon our nation before it destroys itself. The United States needs some theology and geometry, some taste and decency. I suspect that we are teetering on the edge of the abyss.” – A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole

“… I avoid that bleak first hour of the working day during which my still sluggish senses and body make ever chore a penance. I find that in arriving later, the work which I do perform is of a much higher quality.”
John Kennedy Toole (A Confederacy of Dunces)
